Pinterest & Twitter


I finally joined Pinterest and it is addictive. Most people spend 1 hour 17 mins a day on Pinterest, that must be more than Twitter, less than Facebook. Makes me think more & more that it is a tool marketers should be using. Over the next few weeks I will be reviewing how I can use it in my role.

As a network it already has 12 million users, mainly mature female consumers (not sure I like the mature!). I showed it my husband last night and he wasn’t interested – until I said I can start a board for my birthday and put pictures of things I like with comments – he tells me I am very hard to buy for & it looks like Pinterest is going to replace the ripped out magazine pages on the fridge!

That’s great for me personally but how does a business ensure it stays within the legal boundaries? with 3% of all referral traffic online coming from Pinterest we just cannot do it due to these issues – just need to find a way round it.  One of the best campaigns I have seen to date is the Peugeot jigsaw puzzle.

To follow me on Pinterest.

This week Twitter celebrated being 6 years old. March 21st the first tweet was sent. Since then it has grown to 140 million active tweeters, 1 billion tweets every 3 days & $139.5m in ad sales. This great article gives you more history on Twitter. There has been some remarkable tweets through out the last six years including many breaking news stories.

I have been on Twitter for 3 years 11 months!

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

